Sink or Swim? No Wallow!


This is my first prompted blog – thanks to Susie at the Kindness Club for reminding us we all need me time.

I once told my Mother ” we have a great life style, it would be great to share that with a child”  she smiled at me but didn’t say anything, of course what she should have said was “you can kiss that great lifestyle goodbye once you have less income and a baby to look after!” I would never have believed her though, I don’t think anyone really grasps the impact a child makes on your life.  Of course it’s all worth it, they are fabulous but they do encroach on your “me” time somewhat and for the first 3 years (or so) at the end of the day you are too seriously tired to want to do anything but sleep.  Without a constant supply of babysitters near by you are tied to your little darlings every one of their waking moments no matter when that might be…

So what was that me time of old?

In my twenties I had a hectic social life, I worked in hotels and socialized with the staff at any available hour off shift, I lodged with some great people my age and there was lots of going out and about, I took up skydiving for a few years which tied up many weekends camping at the DZ and that is where I met my husband.  Once we moved in together things did slow down of course, we were in a new town and I was commuting to work, he would go out every Thursday night and I would have a quiet night with an indulgent curry and a chick flick.

I loved books, demolishing my way through 2 or 3 a week barely able to exist without some story of sci fantasy or passion winding it way through my brain, baby brain put paid to that, although I am pleased to say that I have recently experience a resurgence in the reading department.

I used to cross stitch too, that started on the DZ waiting for the wind to drop or the clouds to raise enough to jump, there are after all only so many parachutes that need packing at any one time.

I have never been a beauty salon babe, I love saunas, steam rooms and swimming, Bath Thermea Spa is paradise on earth for me and yet in my pre children life when I had the free time I didn’t  indulge that often, I had no need.

We bought our hot tub when we were DINKY’s, It was one of those things that we really wanted but normally would never have justified but my husband had a small lottery win and we thought why not… Thing is with the rise of Electricity costs and the reduction in available time we invariably shut it down from November to April every year even though it’s a really pleasant experience to be outside in the hot tub in the cold, especially surrounded by snow…

So the me time of now? That would be anytime spent without any noise or worry, rare indeed!

Last weekend, whilst constructing my new vegetable boxes for our “where does my food come from” garden the husband said “Why don’t you fire up the tub?”  I didn’t need to be told twice.  Little Miss and I washed it out and filled it up.

The tub takes 24hrs to heat up to 37 degrees, which is about time the chlorine takes to wear off from the first “flash” then you have to balance the ph so it’s safe, we usually use bromide when the smalls are getting in too.  So it wasn’t until Monday night it was ready and by then I’d forgotten about it – dafty!

Tuesday, little miss and I had a good splash in the afternoon whilst Daddy was back at his boxes and little man was asleep, later that night Daddy and I had a relaxing soak together once the smalls were in bed.  It is sooo good for a marriage to have some time together where you can’t watch mindless car programs, you are not stuck with your head in the lap top tweeting or blogging and there are no smalls demanding attention, in the tub we have to sit and read, sit and talk or sit and do the stuff married couple forget to do once they are not courting anymore ;-P

In the interest of Susie’s Kindness club I have made sure that I have chilled out in the hot tub every night this week, either with himself or just me and a book, no other reason you understand…. And it’s been REALLY hard to do, (not).

Thanks Susie!

One Response to Sink or Swim? No Wallow!

  1. Susie says:

    Sounds like heaven!

Always lovely to hear from you!

