161 days, that is 23 weeks & 1 day… :-(


Funny title for a blog post, I’m quaking in my flip flops because that is how long I have until I hit the big four oh.  I don’t actually have much of an issue with being 40 per say, yes, I miss being physically 26 (my mental age), I don’t enjoy being tired or getting hangovers much.  It’s taken me about 10 years and a better hairdresser to come to terms with that STRANGE woman in the mirror whom I fail to recognise with such frequency.  My main issue with hitting 40 is self inflicted, and a tale as old as time – I promised myself that I would be 12.5 stone, the same weight as when I got married, on my birthday.

Dieting and I like so many women are old foes, how often have you seen diet related blog posts or whole dieting blogs, don’t get me wrong I’m all for them if they help the individual or especially others, I have always prefered to keep my anxiety about my ever increasing weight firmly private.  I can’t go to diet “clubs” with weigh in’s the idea of sitting in a circle with others and discussing what I have eaten all week makes me feel physically sick.  I avoid talking diet with people at all and then I got to thinking perhaps that is where I’m going wrong – It’s time to face the fear!

So I’m telling the blog this and perhaps anyone who is interested enough to read it in the hope that I will be too embarrassed to fail.

My target weight is to loose approximately  2 stone. Yesterday when I weighed myself I was – here goes (deep breath, closes eyes) 14 stone and 6 pounds. (breaths out in a blast and is grateful that I can’t see the reader’s expressions) I have 161 days to loose 2 stone, any more is a bargain and I have promised myself some time at Bath Spa if I do it – there we go more intensive!

So, the How to bit..

  • Eat smaller meals, avoid non fruit pudding.
  • Cut out most “C” foods that are not vegetables ie: Chocolate, cake, chips, crisps – you get the idea yes?
  • Curtail internet/laptop time – laptop free time will be between 9am and 12pm 2pm and 6pm use of mobile to tweet is permitted
  • Partake in one form of activity per day, cycling, trampolining, swimming, long walk, run, wii games if active.
  • Do not (this is the tough one) eat snacks of any form after dinner!!!!
  • Monitor wine consumption (I usually only have 1 bottle per week so not too worried about this one)
  • Drink more water

I’d be ever so grateful for any comments with suggestions and thoughts people have to help, please remember the more people I think are reading this the more embarrassed I’m going to be if I fail and I hate the idea of people knowing that I have failed badly….

Anyone who wants to join in – you are most welcome, it’s only 214 days to Christmas and black dress season after all!

Image credits

Mulher de 40  by Stella Brazil from Flickr

Day 146 by Tala– from flickr

16 Responses to 161 days, that is 23 weeks & 1 day… :-(

  1. I hated being 39, 40 is much better.

    • kailexness says:

      I thought I would hate my 30’s, I haven’t its been really great, here’s to the next decade of experiences (raises glass of prune juice LOL!)

  2. Laura says:

    Keep at it! You’ll be fab! As long as the sunshine stays out you’ll enjoy long walks and going for a run. Just keep thinking about that spa, you’ll get there! 🙂

    • kailexness says:

      Thanks Laura 🙂

  3. Michelle (Utterlyscrummy) says:

    Best of luck hun! I need to lose more than 2 stone but am persevering and am already doing most of the things you suggest – fab tips btw.

    Got a couple of my own too: In this heat instead of having icecreams or sorbets, freeze berries to snack on. Frozen raspberries, blueberries and even grapes are fat free and tasty too.

    Keep vege sticks in the fridge for when you get peckish like carrot, pepper or celery sticks ready sliced so you can just grab & munch. I have mine with 0% fat youghurt mixed with fresh herbs as a dip.

    Looking forward to keeping up with your progress. I’m sure you will do it! xx

    • kailexness says:

      Frozen berries, mmmmm great idea, bet the smalls will love them too, that dip sounds nice as well – oh dear feeling hungry time for internet downtime and more athletic ironing 😀

  4. Susie says:

    Do you think it’s a realistic goal? I know that 5 years ago at 33 I was thin and looked good and I was still 18 pounds heavier than I was at 19 when I got married. I know I will not be able to comfortably stay at my wedding weight.

    I think you should set a goal of being fit and being tone and liking the way you look in your clothing.

    Also check out the blog that kat from 3bedrooms and i write (she started and now we both write on it).

    http://backawaydonut.blogspot.com/

    • kailexness says:

      I think it’s a very realistic goal, I’m not looking to be the 9st something I was at 19, I’m looking to be the 12st 7lb I was at 30.

      My Dr. has advised me that I need to loose 4 stone and that 2 – 3 lbs is a good weekly level of weight loss in order to keep it off so 1.5lb a week should be more than achievable.

      I hate clothes shopping, always have, I’m not a fashion follower so looking nice would be great but is not an incentive for me to loose weight.

      My sister decided to join me in the goal today so it will be good to egg each other on.

  5. Peabee72 says:

    Good luck with your goal, I’m sure you’ll get there. Personally I think it’s something that happens in your late thirties- I’m a stone heavier than I was at this point last year and not a great deal has changed about my diet or exercise. I got talking to a woman recently who had changed to a low carb diet with amazing results, not only that put she reported that she’d put the whole family on the same diet and was seeing massive improvements in temperaments and behaviour of her children. I started today testing it out on myself- low carbs, not no carbs! Bacon, egg and tomatoes for breakfast, chicken salad for lunch and chicken, broccoli, rice and peas for dinner. I’ve also had the odd home made cake thrown in, but no processed food, no complex carbs and nothing really unnatural. Weirdly I have more energy than on a normal day and have not felt at all hungry.

    I think it’s important to make sure it’s the right time for you to make a change, and not obsess – don’t weigh yourself every day! And exercise like a demon! Px

    • kailexness says:

      Thanks, that is very sound advice 🙂

  6. Sandrine says:

    Mine is in 21 weeks! And I could definitely do with losing a couple of stones. Shall I join you?

    • kailexness says:

      Please do!

  7. Jane says:

    I’ll join you – after all I’m not 40 until after you!!!!

    Why don’t we make a ‘date’ on the weds morning O & K are at nursery and we can buggy fit – but not round the park!?

    x

    • kailexness says:

      I’m determined to get Alex into nursery Monday and mornings next term, with or without Alice’s help, he needs it, I was thinking of finding a yoga class or something, you up for that?

      • Jane says:

        Monday and WHICH? mornings? You wrote it perculiar!

        Don’t forget – I’m working mon and fri……….

  8. Andie says:

    Good luck and I will definitely join you as I have two stone to shift myself 🙂

Always lovely to hear from you!

