Stranger…


Who are you, looking at me like that?
I can see you staring, evaluating.
Why the look of confusion? You don’t look so good yourself!
Look at the shadows around your eyes.
Tired are you, not enough sleep perhaps.
Look at the wrinkles, laughter lines are they, right, still there though…
Tip your chin up a little it won’t look so double.
Your eyes look familiar, reminds me of my grandmother.
She was a grand old bird, very strong, matriarchal.
Are you strong?
You look doubtful. Not so sure of yourself.
You used to be so confident.
Pick your shoulders up, no one looks good slumped over,
hold that tummy in, however did it get that big!
Don’t you take care of yourself?
No time, make time!
I know, it’s not always that easy.
Time to get moving, I can’t stand here all day.
Staring in the mirror….

6 Responses to Stranger…

  1. Wow, it’s great!!! It could have been me, in that mirror šŸ˜‰

  2. what a great post! love it! šŸ™‚

  3. Love it… understated, poignant!

  4. And what about all the nice things you see as well????

    • kailexness says:

      To be honest I fail to see anything much good in the mirror at the moment, I think it’s a milestone thing, but I must admit that I know the good stuff is inside me šŸ™‚

  5. Great writing. Thanks for tweeting or might have missed it

Always lovely to hear from you!

