Twi-litten up


As you know I could be referred to as a woman of a certain age (don’t worry this isn’t another age obsessed post) and as a woman of a certain age you could assume there would be no place in my life for a series of (albeit incredibly well written) teenage fantasy books.  You would of course be wrong, or you might be shaking your head and saying to yourself “I’m a woman of a certain age and I adore twilight!”

I knew Twilight has affected my life quite drastically when it dawned on me that I had managed to read all four books in three days and then started at the beginning again, the romance, the unrequited passion, the tension..  *sighs*

It’s true I do have a history of getting obsessive with fiction, I must have read my entire collection of Terry Pratchett books many times each and I have almost every book he has written.  Harry Potter stormed through my life like a new broom chasing a quiddich ball, I still have a very special place in my heart for the arrogant Mr.Darcy, that love affair has lasted nearly 26 years.  If I  enjoy a book by an author I tend to search out their other books until I can find no more, reading is my non-computer escape hatch and a key relaxation tool.  I was very concerned when I was pregnant with my son because I lost the concentration power to read a book at all, thankfully that has returned and not a day too soon!

The fantasy genre is definitely my favourite,  I like my books to be different from real life situations,  I like to discover new worlds and have vivid pictures painted in my head of a different type of place or existence. I love wizards and witches, Elves, Dwarfs, dragons and magic. I like to laugh with them, to be swept along on wild adventures.  Crime/adventure books feature largely in our house too, both my husband and I read out way through a rain forest of books about forensic anthropologists, detectives and CSI’s I usually only read them once though, I pick up the odd romance sometime but not so often these days, I always return back to fantasy..

Twilight is a little different to my usual fantasy book, Forks is in Washington USA, the Earth, not a fictional disc of a planet sat on the back of four huge elephants standing on a giant turtle swimming through space.  Bella is a little pathetic at times but I always thought I would be a pile of putty if Edward started nibbling at my neck too, she’s not however riding through a medievil world of Elves and sorcery as a reincarnated soul trying to put straight past mistakes…  and Edward, well, wow, I remain speechless…. There is no comparison in my usual realms of fictional fantasy…

Ask me which of the Twilight Saga books is my favourite and I will reply without hesitation Midnight Sun, Twilight from Edwards point of view, finding out what was going on behind those sultry black looks and self control was awe inspiring and frustrating because it ended too soon.

By now you will have gathered I am firmly TeamEdward (eerk I hate those team things) Jacob is far too normal and obtainable for me even if he is a werewolf rippling with muscles and animal magnetism, there is no competition…

The vampirical world of the Cullen’s is almost additively attractive, they harm no one, they are fast and strong, spellbindingly attractive, they don’t age, they are tantalizingly dangerous and hunt mountain lions and people wonder why Bella might find that world desirable?  Let me think – I’m good to go, anyone else?

In fact the characters are so enthralling, like a spider drawing in it prey on a sticky web, I have heard tell of women getting peeved at their poor unsuspecting husbands for not being so golden tongued or as deathly attractive as Edward….  Wasn’t me…..

Before someone gets up on their huge white stallions and thinks of charging to the rescue of those poor Edward coddled husbands let me tell you what my dear other half suggested when we were packing for our holiday last week, he asked me if I were going to pack the Twilight books and films, I replied that it wasn’t my intention, he smiled suggestively with his eyes twinkling and said he would really like it if I read all the books at least four times each on the journey there and chuckled with mischief! Obviously the effect of the Twilight Saga is further reaching than I had realised!!

6 Responses to Twi-litten up

  1. Jenny paulin @ mummy mishaps says:

    Great post! I have not read the books yet as I bought them just before having Burton and have not managed to find the time or eye strength to make a start yet. I have of course seen the two films and I know that when I eventually get around to reading the books I will not be disappointed.
    I have to admit that Robert Patterson definitely plays the part well and if I were Bella I would want to become a vampire too …….I wonder why? Lol

  2. Emma says:

    Crime/adventure books are something I grew up reading. I consider them to be my first reading material , My dad collected magazines and books so out of curiosity I read them. I cant get enough of crime shows now – Bones, CSI , Law & Order , Tagget , Midsomer murders .. I adore them all!
    Im not a twilight fan though – dont disown me! 😉 x

    • kailexness says:

      I won’t disown you one day you will see the error of your ways, hehehe
      I love all shows you mentioned too but I do go totally irrational when I know a new Terry Pratchett adaptation is on (you will not see me on Twitter tomorrow night for that very reason!) Going Postal – Sky HD 🙂

  3. JulieB says:

    I love reading, full stop. I hate people that slag things off without personally having given them a chance.I don’t really care who it is aimed at, or what critics think – as long as it is entertaining and well written, I will read it. I have read plenty of stuff supposedly aimed at teens (Harry Potter, Young Bond series immediately spring to mind), but confess I haven’t got round to the Twilight series yet. It’s up there on my “list of things to read”, just haven’t got round to it yet. One day!

    • kailexness says:

      you are welcome to borrow mine if you are able to crow bar them away from me!

  4. Not a fan of the Twilight series but a big fan of the fact that it has gotten a lot of teenagers into reading. The affect of these books just keeps spreading as immitations come out, teenagers look for something else to read, movies and merchandise are released. Love them or hate them, you can’t ignore their impact.

Always lovely to hear from you!

