Time


How often have I said “I’d just like to be able to go back and enjoy them when they were….”

When they were newborns, screwed up eyes and tiny feet, so needy and helpless. The feeling I most remember after my daughter was born was being totally out of my depth, what did I do, how did I do it, I did spend ages just gazing at her sleeping, I still do..

When they were rolling about stretching to grab things, flailing about, when they started sitting and used to flop backwards and get frustrated because they couldn’t sit up.  When they found the strength to crawl about and start moving themselves and toys away from where I had left them.  The pulling up on the furniture and cautious side stepping around the room handing on for dear life.

The giggling and cooing, first words, first steps, first meals, first tantrum…  well maybe not the first tantrum!

How I would love to be able to turn back the clock and spend precious moments again, charging around on the beach, the first time he learned how to do the rope bridge at the park, when they have been so proud of themselves for an achievement.

My baby girl who used to put her hand up index finger pointing out so I could reach mine out the same and touch hers.  She would mew whilst feeding at the breast a soft little sound that will never be repeated.  My little man who snuggles and cuddles in such a soft loving way, shy and a little bit startled by the world…

It goes so fast, every stage, every new thing that is learned, like having a different newer version every day.

If I could have a magical power I would choose to revisit my time.

IMAGE- Time isn’t all colour by Philp_england on Flickr

My first entry for the Writing workshop on Sleep is for the Weak

9 Responses to Time

  1. TheMadHouse says:

    I dont think we appreicate the times until they pass, I am trying to hold on to each so much

  2. jfb57 says:

    What a lovely thought but there would be bits I’d want to miss out!

    • kailexness says:

      Yes, I’ve had my fill of full nappies that’s for sure!

  3. itsasmallworldafterallfamily says:

    Great minds think alike eh? I’ve been feeling rather melancholy about it the last couple of weeks. When my eldest was about one, I remember a lady coming up to me in a cafe and saying, make the most of it, enjoy it while you can, my children are all grown up now and it feels like yesterday they were little. At the time I thought she was a bit mad. But now I know she was right.

    • kailexness says:

      I think we are so busy caring for them and trying to keep our own heads above water that it’s hard to remember to stop and commit moments to memory, enjoy the moment.

  4. scribblingmum says:

    Tiny feet! I loved tiny feet! And little bottoms. I can remember bringing home my youngest and being completely taken back by how huge my toddler’s bottom was! Awww, it does go way too fast but I think each stage brings new ‘little feet’ memories that are just as precious.

  5. Josie says:

    That’s why I love memory. It’s like travelling back in time for me. I close my eyes and I’m THERE.

    I hope I get to keep that.

  6. Beautiful post. My daughter is only 6 months but she’s already changed so much! I know we’ve got a million things in front of us and I want to try and remember them all. I don’t mind forgetting the exploding nappies though!!

  7. That is exactly why I feel so lucky to have my Bonus Boy. With the first three it was all so mad but with him I have really taken time to enjoy the little things. Lovely post. x

Always lovely to hear from you!

