Smug Satisfaction (The Gallery – Emotions)


Courgette

Dwarf Bean

Tomato

Dwarf Pea

Cauliflower

Grape

Cranberry

Little seed, falling from my daughters tiny hand.
Carefully covered with soil, patted to keep you safe and warm.
Given a drink with such joyful relish.
Forgotten.

Little plant, a cause of excitement and wonderment,
small fingers pointing and much squealing,
water sloshing out of a forcefully wielded watering can.
Watched.

Little flower, delicately unfolding to the light
gazed upon with respect an awe
scooped up water from the paddling pool administered.
Admired.

25 Responses to Smug Satisfaction (The Gallery – Emotions)

  1. divestdaisy says:

    What beautiful pictures!!!

  2. Cheshire Mum says:

    You should be so proud, my garden is styled on Arizona – the place not an actress! Cauliflower – check you out Mrs Alan Titchmarsh! x

  3. porridgebrain says:

    What a gorgeous post! Words AND photos!

    There is nothing like satisfaction of something grown from nothing. It’s similar to the feeling I get from art I imagine, although my green fingers are just paint (I kill everything I try to grow!!)

    Well done to you on beautiful new things grown. What a lovely thing to share with your children.
    x

  4. Susie says:

    What beautiful picture and post. I have to say I am having garden envy at the moment from everyone’s veggie gardens.

  5. What a lovely collaboration of photos and words! Nothing beats home grown produce and I expect nothing beats the look of wonder on your little one’s face!

  6. Lovely! I get such joy from growing food and I always feel I am being a good Mummy sharing that joy with my children! Gorgeous photos…no bugs or slugs?!

    • kailexness says:

      Loads of snails in our garden, we have a healthy frog population so the slugs suffer, the veggies are all in a raised box, see http://wp.me/pSUmC-Z so they don’t get in as much, we had loads of greenfly which I hose off vigorously, the blueberry, lemon and baytree got a nasty infestation last year of a caterpillar so they got sprayed this year I’m afraid, we have next to no blueberries this year 😦

  7. TheMadHouse says:

    Your garden is looking fantastic

  8. Max Akroyd says:

    Great pictures. Great plants!

    • kailexness says:

      High praise indeed Max, thank you!

  9. Red Ted Art says:

    ooh yes, you deserve to be smugly satisfied! My garden looks no where near like that! Well done you!

    Maggy

  10. dawniebrown says:

    Those photos are lovely – my veggie patch is more of a weed patch this year as with Zara being born at the end of November I just haven’t hide time this year – have lots of dandelions though if those count πŸ™‚

    • kailexness says:

      Dandelion Wine perhaps πŸ™‚

  11. Gorgeous pictures and I love the poem πŸ™‚

  12. Your pictures are so amazing you are really talented, I bet your garden looks fabulous. Lovely words too

  13. Fabulous photos:) Jen

  14. mrsljhall says:

    Fantastic! I am so jealous, I struggle to grow grass!

    • kailexness says:

      Well now the grass does not grow very well at all! Dig wee, trampoline, kids toys… Dead grass

  15. Jackie says:

    I miss my garden 😦 What a fabulous post and pictures!

  16. New Mummy says:

    Lovely pictures and great poem. We’re growing some of our veg this year and its lovely to see the garden flourish

  17. mummywalker says:

    Amazing pictures. I’ve only just started gardening, my neighbour dragged me to a garden centre, I think it was to make me do something with our front garden.
    Anyhow how awesome that you’ve grown all those things. I’d love to just go into the garden and oick stuff for dinner. Maybe next year x

    • kailexness says:

      The potatoes were a new one for us this year, I got very confused with the first and second earlies main crop stuff but they are ready now and totally divine, never had such lovely potatoes, almost sweet.

  18. db says:

    Gorgeous!
    I’m jealous – I can’t seem to keep anything alive. The only thing I haven’t killed in my bamboo plant. I’ve managed to kill two hanging baskets worth of flowers, plus my basil this year. Too forgetful to be a good gardener.

    Stopped by from Josie’s.. πŸ™‚

  19. Mirka Moore says:

    Great post, shots and you must be a very good gardener πŸ™‚

    • kailexness says:

      not really, muddling along…

Always lovely to hear from you!

