Welcome to my living room…


April 2010, not so long ago but I feel it was a major turning point for me. Why? because of you, because of Twitter because of WordPress.

Today I found myself trying to explain to my Mum the attraction of Twitter.It went a bit like this in between trying to get the smalls to eat their lunch and generally behave…

I have 342 followers and follow 400 odd people, there are people chatting all the time about any subject, a lot of them are Mum’s like me with children of all ages, all sorts of Mums, stay at home ones and stay at home Dads, working Mum’s, Grandmas. There are also lots of people without children who help you to remember what it’s like. I interact with gardeners, dog owners, music lovers, party animals, discuss things that matter to me and to them on a daily basis, we do quizzes, write letters, send parcels, have tweetups, it’s such a life line.

And it has introduced me to blogging, somewhere to pour out my thoughts and join in with a community, respond to the things people say about their lives and have them respond to me.

I’m not sure Mum gets it really, if anyone can she should, we moved to a new town when I was two, it was winter, she knew no one and could not get out much, she then had two more children in a community where she had no support from her family in an age where Mothers groups didn’t exist, she did meet some other Mum’s in hospital when my sister was born but it must of been so hard.

Having somewhere to channel my erratic thoughts and always someone there to respond to my “blue” moments or share my “yellow” moments or even my “blonde” moments is so priceless I could not start to explain how marvelous it is…

I can’t be the only one who feels like this!

10 Responses to Welcome to my living room…

  1. I’m with you, I think it’s fab!…and you wouldn’t known about the park and she wouldn’t have had such a lovely day out! x

    • kailexness says:

      I still can’t believe I missed such a gem!

  2. I feel exactly the same. I can’t remember life before blogging and twitter now! It is a great way to get in touch with the outside world, especially if you are stuck indoors with kids. My mother would have no understanding of what it is all about. She can’t switch on a computer and has no interest in learning how to.

    • kailexness says:

      My Mother texts emails and skypes, she just has to get to the computer before my stepdad 🙂

  3. Kate says:

    Love that you are loving Twitter and all it offers.
    Great for mum or anyone feeling that bit isolated. I have two posts on my blog at http://gigglingatitall.blogspot.com about what I have got out of Twitter in the best and worst of times. It is a lifeline.
    Keep up the good work with the blogging

    • kailexness says:

      I shall take a look 🙂 thanks for the link

  4. I feel the same! Twitter and blogging help me reach out to so many people. Sadly, without them I think I would feel quite lonely sometimes. I now have people to talk to all over the world, about so many things. My husband laughs at my twitter/blog addiction and just doesn’t get it but they are, at times, my lifelines.

  5. JulieB says:

    Yes, yes, yes – totally agree! Husband is finally starting to work out what it’s all about (not that he really “gets” it), but I still really struggle trying to explain it’s brilliance to people.

  6. I just wish I had discovered it sooner. All those sleepless nights when I could have found a friend to chat with in the middle of the night. I have tried to explain it to people too, but I think you just have to use it to get it!!

  7. LOL-twitter and blogging has replaced my fb and forum obsession.

Always lovely to hear from you!

