Shut your mouth!


Here comes a pet hate rant….

Why oh why oh why do TV shows insist on filming actors eating and talking with their mouths full? eerrggghhh!

Seriously people in TV land, it’s gross, off putting and I will turn over to another channel.

More to the point, why is this happening on childrens TV!!

Am I really the only parent who insists on good table manners? We try and eat together, usually at a table. At the moment every meal time I must say “Close your mouth whilst eating” “Don’t talk with your mouth full” “Elbows off the table” “If you don’t finish it there is no pudding” so many times it gets boring, yet it is very important to me that my delightful smalls can be equally delightful whilst sharing a meal with people.

I know the world is a different place, no longer for some the big family meals, people eat their dinner on their laps in front of the google box with a fork and often at different times from other family members, manners are often unused if not forgotten but watching even the most attractive people talk through a mouth of masticated food is disgusting.

What am I supposed to tell my children when they see their TV stars doing what I tell them not too?

4 Responses to Shut your mouth!

  1. I am soooo with you on this one! Mealtimes just aren’t mealtimes if you don’t get to say ‘Elbows off the table’ or ‘Don’t talk with your mouth full’ Or actually, I often make the mistake of saying ‘Don’t EAT with your mouth full..’ much to the amusement of my offspring ; )
    And have to say – that photo is just too cute x

  2. jfb57 says:

    you could get me started on a fav rantof mine & that is the pwoer the media mis-uses! I agree with table manners & then there’s using lower case for names, swearing, shouting when not apporpriate – going to stop because my heart is beginning to race. Trouble there majority of the world doesn’t seem to notice!

  3. Sandrine says:

    Oh, I’m with you on that one! In principle anyway. In practice I’m happy if my son eats with his fork not his hands, and if my daughter remembers to put her book down while we’re eating… But I do regard it as a great success that we all sit down to eat at table together every night. And none of our bad table manners have anything to do with the tv, because we watch so little of it. No, we’re just naturally pigs!

  4. Vegemitevix says:

    Oh but you left the worst one out!! Picking your teeth with your fork, or fingernail. Ick. Ick. Ick. What are we? Savages?

Always lovely to hear from you!

