Back to London Town – The Gallery


My brain is a strange and unknown place, if it was a filing cabinet somebody has come along and emptied the files all over the floor… then jumped on them and shredded a few….

It needs a catalyst, a jumpstart…

We went to London last week, the city and I have a history, I was born there, my parents were Londoners, my Grandparents were Londoners and my great grandparents too.  Gramp (Mums side) used to tell of walking from Penge to Crystal Palace to see the football, on a good week he might be able to afford the bus.  My Dad was from Catford – the smurfs always make me laugh – “we’re from Catford, aint we ay!” My Uncle Bill (Dads side) was a bus conductor up and down Burnt Ash Hill and some times Nana (Mum’s side) would get on his bus…  Lewisham shopping centre was always a highlight of a visit to London due to the beautiful clock with characters that came out on the hour – lots of whiring and spinning, I have no idea if it is still there.

Once when I was about 8 or 9 Gramp took me on a trip into “town” we caught the train from Lee Green and walked by the Thames, stood on a bridge and watched the trains, cars, busses, taxis and boats go by, we rode the tube together and went to a dock and looked at the pleasure cruisers.

At 14 or 15 I would visit on my own, catching the bus from Corby into Victoria and being met at the bus station, during my week I would catch the train into town and ride the tube on a day ticket, stopping where ever I thought there was something of interest like the little pub inside Harrods or the Monument to the Great Fire, very Educational I’m sure!

I remember family trips to St Paul Cathedral forever called St Pauls Beagegal thanks to my sister Jenny where we had great fun in the whispering gallery listening to echos.

And that is just the tip of the iceberg, in my early 20’s there were the visits to clubs with friends who lived in the city, theatre visits, a Christmas dinner dance at the Natural History museum with our dining tables all around the Diplodocus.

There are so many memories that I just don’t have one that covers it, walking through Piccadilly and Leicester Square last week memories were jumping out at me from all sides, it’s comforting to know that so many memories have survived under the thick layer of cotton wool in my brain.

So I give you this lovely Gallery people…

Memories, freshly made 🙂

For The Gallery at Sticky Fingers

19 Responses to Back to London Town – The Gallery

  1. jfb57 says:

    Freshly made are fine! They certainly contain some great smiles!

  2. Red Ted Art says:

    Ahhh a lovely set of “new” photos!!! Definitely ones that will memories make!

    Maggy

  3. Beautiful.

  4. It’s great when you can recreate some of your happy childhood memories for your own family, as well as make some new ones.

  5. I love the little girl sat on the lion’s tail. It gives a wonderful sense of scale. The framing is just perfect.

  6. Nat says:

    I have lots of memories as a kid in London too, every time we go to Trafalgar Square, E says you fell in the fountain when you were little didn’t you mummy! I did too 😀

    Glad you got to create more memories!

  7. b4kersgirl says:

    Great post. I wish I lived closer to London as there is just so much there.

    Have fun making memories there!

  8. I LOVE that first photo! Making memories, how fab! x

  9. Parklover says:

    Lovely. It’s great to introduce your kids to the places your family introduced you to!

  10. Mummy V says:

    Lovely post and gorgeous pictures. I love making fresh memories (and I’d love to go on the London Eye!) 🙂

  11. monkeymummy says:

    Lovely pics, London is so exciting when you’re little!

    • kailexness says:

      Very scary for a paranoid Mum!

  12. Lovely happy photos. Is that the London Eye? We’re in London next week!

    • kailexness says:

      yes, it is, the smalls were a bit bemused by it, we did it for Daddy’s sake really, it was my 3rd time but he had never been 🙂

  13. Making new memories is what life is all about! They are lovely family photos/memories!
    Also enjoyed reading your post about how you were introduced to places in your life that you are now able to take your family to, so that one day your children will do the same with theirs! 🙂

  14. What lovely photos, it is great letting your kids see what you have as your memories. They look like they are having so much fun! xx

  15. Kate says:

    Lovely pics… we try to introduce our children to things we did and places we visited when we were ourselves children. It’s great but it does start some funny conversations.

  16. Michelloui says:

    I love showing my daughter places that hold special significance to me, and telling her about my memories of the place. She remembers a lot of these, almost like an oral history she may pass on to her children one day. This was a lovely post.

  17. flightsrhodes says:

    ahhhhhh very good, bookmarked 🙂 keep it up, JusyKassy. http://www.flightsrhodes.org

Always lovely to hear from you!

