Sleepless in Wiltshire


Pregnancy prepares you for the lack of sleep you endure once the bundle of joy arrives. Night feeds become second nature. Napping during the day is easier if you are able, when the baby sleeps.  Mothers are tuned into their children and wake easily if the child needs them.

Yes, I get all that and more but when does it stop? My daughter is 4 next week and my son is 2 and a half, yes they sometimes wake during the night and they both talk in their sleep and I wake for all of it *big sad tired face*.

The little lady has just started waking in the night if she needs the bathroom too, as soon as she starts moving I’m awake.

I honestly can’t remember the last time I slept through the night.

Daddy is off this week (hence the lack of blogging) and offered to “try” and get up with the kids so he set his alarm, you know the alarm that is the only way he ever makes consciousness in the mornings but it has to go off 4 or 5 times at 5 minute intervals for that to occur….  Why can’t that be me?

I know I’m not alone, my twitter buddies and I share a coffee most mornings at #thebadnightcoffeeclub and I’m very grateful for them 🙂

I’m in search of solutions, drugs or herbal remedies are out, I do need to wake if the children need me (just not when they chat in their sleep!)

I have started having a regular bedtime regardless of how tired I am (who am I kidding! I’m always knackered!) and I do use some lavender on my pillow, so I’m trying things to aid sleep and any ideas anyone can help with would be most welcome, what helps you sleep through?

Image from Jsome1 on Flickr Creative Commons

3 Responses to Sleepless in Wiltshire

  1. jfb57 says:

    Oh poor you! There is nothing worse than disrupted sleep. I haven’t got anything magic to suggest but I have discovered camomile, vanilla & honey tea which does calm me so it may help relax you for sleep. Worth a try & it is quite nice!

  2. The Moiderer says:

    Glad the #badnightcoffeeclub helps http://www.themoiderer.com/blog/2010/07/the-bad-night-coffee-club.html
    As for sleeping through – the only thing that helps me is the little one sleeping through and that is not going to help you very much!

  3. pmvincent says:

    I too jump up at the first wimper of either one of the kids, they don’t seem to get up too much at night but when they do I’m up. My husband sleeps like a log. My 7 year old sometimes yells for me in his sleep, and after frantically running into his room, I realize he is sleeping, fun. They all talk in their sleep. I have tried a magnesium supplement called Calm and it helps to relax me before going to be, don’t know if that will help. Also melatonin sometimes help with lack of sleep too. Good luck!!

Always lovely to hear from you!

