13 days…


Only 13 days left of my thirties and I don’t think I mind any longer.

When I turned 30, I spend ages looking in the mirror trying to see the woman I thought I knew inside, I really didn’t recognise myself and of course I found that alarming and disconcerting.  This week I have been looking in the mirror and I can see a new me, older, yes of course but it is a me I can recognise and relate to.

Perhaps it is the weight loss that has helped, I’m back at my pre pregnancy weight, which is good but I was a bit chubby back then too so there is still a way to go.  I have managed to put my wedding and engagement rings back on, my finger is still a little pudgy but they are on and that makes me happier.

I lost another lb this week for all the excess at the weekend, 1lb a week is slower than I hoped to loose weight but is that really important as long as it is coming off slowly and staying off?  I’m 12lb away from my first weight target of 12st 7lb and that is really very cool 😀 Perhaps as a thyroid sufferer this is all I can expect to loose per week.

Things are hotting up for my birthday, Daddy still doesn’t know if he is allowed the day off so I’m going ahead with my plan of dropping the smalls off at nursery, having a manicure and then going shopping in Bath for a glam outfit for my night out on the 6th.  I had hoped to spend a few hours at the Thermae spa, it’s looking unlikely, perhaps if I get any birthday money I may indulge myself.  I do intend to enjoy a very strong coffee with a large cake somewhere I can watch the world go by.

I’m still in the dark about the plans for my birthday and the control freak in me is not best happy with this, I am of the opinion however, that if one is lucky enough to have a special friend who will go out of their way to make something good happen for you then you are a really lucky so and so and should slap the control freak down and go with the flow.

Bring it on….

3 Responses to 13 days…

  1. jfb57 says:

    Talking control freak, when I turned 50 the staff at school said they were going to organise something. Goodness I was like a bear with a sore head! So pleased for you with the weight. The fact that you have lost it slowly means that you can have a w/e of excess w/out anything major happening on the scales!

  2. JulieB says:

    So good to hear you are embracing the milestone in a positive way! My oh turns 40 in a few weeks, and I think there comes a point where you just feel comfortable in your skin.

  3. Control freak?! Didn’t know you were one!!!! x

Always lovely to hear from you!

