Tis the Season…. to be 40 #thegallery


Thinking of the Gallery theme for this week didn’t bring to mind the yearly season changes for me, rather with my brain fixated on last weekend it reminded me of how in years past my birthday always signified the start of the festive season of sorts.

I’d celebrate my birthday, then Guy Fawkes, by which time the shops are brimming with goodies to eat and drink on the month long diet crisis that has become Christmas, there is the shopping and the parties (not so many now sadly) the ferrying around to the various outreaches of the family to make sure everyone gets their gifts.ย  Then the day itself cramming in booze rich food and Triv. Boxing day slumber, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, a walk somewhere in the chilled air, New Years Eve and more booze followed by a bleary start to the new year.

Some of this still happens, other bits have lessened, we now have the nursery party and a nativity to enjoy, the Santa Train is a highlight for me, this will be our third year in a row (I’m so excited!)

Christmas with the smalls is a sheer enjoyment that I revel in much more than booze and rich food and it all starts with November the 1st, so I thought I would share with you the photo’s from Saturday night. (Because it’s my blog and I can…ย  LOL!)

As always, don’t forget to pop over to Sticky Fingers for some much more sensible entries….

12 Responses to Tis the Season…. to be 40 #thegallery

  1. Jenny paulin says:

    Wow! Look at you! You look amazing at being 40!! Check out all those young men surrounding you ๐Ÿ™‚
    Looks like you had a great night and its a great take on the gallery this week xx

    • kailexness says:

      All those young men… *sigh* just goes to show you that the way to a mans heart is through his stomach, even if it was just a slice of chocolate cake!

  2. Mummy V says:

    Great photos, looks like you had a fab time! and happy belated birthday! xx

  3. jfb57 says:

    Excellent take on the post & so great to see your celebrations!

  4. Kerry-Anne says:

    Lovely, Mrs. Cougar! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Tilly says:

    Happy birthday! Life begins at 40 – I’ve had 2 kids and got married since I turned 40!

  6. greenie01 says:

    40 a mere whippersnapper. Looks like you had fun, cake looks delicious

  7. cartside says:

    Congrats, from a fellow member of this exclusive club!

  8. David says:

    Just surfing around to random blogs and thought I’d wish you a happy belated 40th. I just turned 40 myself ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Emma says:

    That cake looks yummy! Happy belated birthday and enjoy the rest of the season!

  10. happy birthday! looks like you celebrated in style ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. keatsbabe says:

    Ooooh loving the look of that cake!! Many happy returns x

Always lovely to hear from you!

