and then…. so what happens next?


Well, the people in my head have finally stopped rattling my brain and insisting I spend time figuring out their story and trying to get it out and in a document in the right way  (I’m not sure I really achieved that but as it was my first stab at fiction and I enjoyed writing it I don’t much care). I’ve sent the story over to my sister who enjoys the same sort of books as me to see what she thinks, I hope she enjoys it but beyond that I have no ambition for it – it’s just seriously not that good.

But the people – sigh – They have taken over my life for nearly two months with their worries and troubles, their love and friendships and now they are gone and I feel a bit deflated and I’m missing them like hell!

Is this how other writers feel when they get to the end of a story? If so I can understand why they keep coming back to the same characters again and again, it’s like loosing a friend.

So what is next?  What do you do? Pick up the laptop and just start trying something else without having the inspiration that led to writing in the first place? Or get on and do the laundry pile I have been seriously neglecting in favour of writing and hope the bug bites again…

Well, I’m going to have a cake and a coffee and think about it – that sounds like a plan!

One Response to and then…. so what happens next?

  1. JulieB says:

    Write a sequel? Work on the screenplay?

Always lovely to hear from you!

