Eeeek! is it Christmas soon?


I hate shopping.  Yes, I know as a female I really should love it and relish the chance to bathe in shoes and handbags, silk and satin alike but honestly, yuck…  (Which is probably why I look like a scarecrow most of the time!)  I quite like shopping for the smalls, probably because I don’t have to do it very often thanks to my generous sisters and the hand me down situation, why buy new clothes for them to come home from nursery covered in the latest art project, mud or food, not to mention the muck cast off by those black rubber playground safety mats…

Christmas shopping really gets my goat (more than new clothes covered in paint? oh yeah!) I have yet to see the person who hands out the Christmas shopping blinkers to everyone because I tend to continue on my usual courteous way through life (I’m just so darn British…) but I know they are out there making the world just a little more ignorant…  so the thought of Christmas shopping in actual real shops fills me with a sense of dread and panic that usually has me shaking under the duvet refusing to come out…

So, yesterday I booked the little man into nursery for an extra sesh and took myself off to Salisbury in the hope that I could get it all done early and avoid the crush for the next two weeks.  I should have gone to Bath.  Duh! I dillied and dallied around the shops not finding anything I wanted, nothing quite right so I came home and ordered it all on the internet – problem solved!

The upside of that was I got a rare quite afternoon for some really lovely brain space, the downside was I should have done that in the first place…  Oh, and a rather lovely grape and brie sandwich from waitrose…. Daft bird!

5 Responses to Eeeek! is it Christmas soon?

  1. Kez Lewis says:

    Yep, you are one daft bird… !!
    I have 37people to buy for. I managed to buy all but 3 pressents in one (short) day between school runs. Got to the city at 10.15 and left at 2.10!!
    I have since bought the remaining 3 online and have schedualled in a marathon wrapping session tonight.

    I have lots going on this week and shall blog about it once I have the chance. Keep you eyes peeled! X

    • kailexness says:

      Me thinks your city must be better than mine 😦 Shudda gone to Bath…

  2. Jane says:

    Glad you had a Waitrose sandwich!

  3. Penny says:

    This really struck a chord with me. This will be me this afternoon. I might just look on it as window shopping, then I’m bound to come home with loads surely?

  4. I love shopping – but I can’t bear the crowds and christmas song over drive which is christmas here, and that slight atmosphere of panic. I do it in November to avoid all of the above, but never am completely organised enough, still popping back for bits, everything ordered on the internet is lost in a snow backlog. Everything I got in November is winking at me from the corner of the room silenting saying “find time to wrap me, why don’t you” . Yes, love Christmas but mostly it does my head in. Found you via Aresidence.

Always lovely to hear from you!

