Don’t do as I say….


…because I say it!

On a train recently, worse for wear from a fun night on the town I found myself chatting to a seemingly interested audience of young men (I realise now I’m sober that they were after my cake!) and on finding out that these rather lovely young men worked in a factory I went off on one of my usual crusades on ‘life goes too fast…’ ‘don’t waste your youth’ chats. (I won’t bore you will the details on the content just now 🙂 ) My dear friend Jane told me off for spouting at the poor chaps and she was right, I do spout off sometimes…

Sometimes, I will even tell people what I think when they have not asked me – it’s a character flaw; I’m working on it…

The crux of the matter is this; if you ask me I will tell you what I think, not rudely but honestly as diplomatically as I can. I can be opinionated (can’t everyone) and sometimes I don’t have an opinion at all just a gut feeling; but I never expect people to actually listen and act on what I have said, unless they choose to.  This is not because I don’t believe what I say is valid and useful, it’s because I reserve the right to not listen and act on any advice given to me and I respect the right in others to do the same.

So if I start going off on one with the I thinks and the perhaps you shoulds, please feel free to put it to one side and choose your own path, you won’t get a ‘I told you so’ (unless I can get a laugh out of you for it!)

#justsayin

One Response to Don’t do as I say….

  1. Jen says:

    It takes a certain level of maturity to accept other peoples opinions and not feel like you are being ‘told’ what to do. Some people never realise that they are free to disregard the advice and instead take it as a criticism or a direct attack even. This has been my experience, something I find I have improved at considerably with age, from both aspects!! Jen

Always lovely to hear from you!

