To MP3 or not to MP3…


So he says “Now you are listening to music again, you should have an MP3 player…”

I look at him with raised eyebrows, he is referring of course to my recent obsession with Taylor Swifts album Speak Now. (I have been delighted to find her lyrics connect me to a place I’d forgotten existed, especially Sparks Fly and Enchanted.) He is also really pleased that as I have lost weight my energy levels have zoomed and I do have a tendency to throw something dancey on the CD player and throw myself around a bit.

But an MP3 player? Why would I want one of those?

I can see the advantages of having some music handy for when the moment takes me, the Little Lady and I have been known to cut a few funky moves whilst walking around the park and I have considered starting jogging again, certainly dusting off the mountain bike. So perhaps this is something I should consider…

“Well…” says I “That is certainly worth considering…”

“How much music do you think you might need? 20 albums or more?” he asks

Once again, speechless… My days are normally quite busy with the smalls how much time do I have for listening to music? But then again, how long is a piece of string? As long as it needs to be of course – I’d need Speak Now of course, and the Mama Mia sound track (just for the Little Lady of course) and something Latinish for hipswinging and something Jazzish for when the mood takes me. Then I’d need the Bryan Adams back catalogue and Bon Jovi, Nickleback…  Really once you start thinking about it there is a lot to consider… So perhaps 20 albums isn’t enough at all!

“Perhaps more I dunno..”

“Do you want a screen?”

“I suppose that would be helpful… I guess if I take up jogging I will need one that can be strapped on somewhere…” he sniggered at that.

“Perhaps you should borrow my ipod and see how you get on?”

Perhaps I should? If I really am going to venture into the world of sound after all these years of preferring silence perhaps I should consider my options carefully….

So, what should I tell him I want – help me out here because I have nooooo idea what to look for in a MP3 player!

Image I love my Music by Shankar, shiv

4 Responses to To MP3 or not to MP3…

  1. urbanvox says:

    an iPhone would solve the problem… 😉
    lol

  2. Him Up North says:

    MP3 players are like dustbins. No matter how big yours is, it always gets filled. If you’re going jogging you want a solid state flash drive type which won’t fail when jerked around. Go for a minimum of 2Gb memory. That’s good for several hundred songs. Even Taylor Swift ones. 😉

    Happy listening!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention To MP3 or not to MP3...: I need advice on what to look for in a gadget! #help #blog #mp3 #music -- Topsy.com

  4. joanne says:

    We both have Sony walkmans.. 4/8GB which means we can keep everything on it. Mine also has baby speakers which make it a bit bigger but then I use it in the house.. instead of finding the right CD and when we are away so we have some music! In neither place does size really matter. Screen really useful to find stuff.. however I recently gained a speedo MP3 for swimming.. excellent but for entirely different reasons.. stuck to the back of my goggles I wouldn’t want a screen!

Always lovely to hear from you!

