I Heart Me Monday – week 1


A new Bloggy linky thingy for this week but yet another good one…

J “notes” from Notes to Self, plus two has recognised that in amongst all the roles that Mummies perform everyday the “Me” can get lost very easily, so each week she is going to pose a “Me” thought to ponder on.

This week “What have I realised about me through blogging?”

As a relatively new blogger I still feel that I am finding my feet here in cyberspace, I started in April 2010 in what I realise now was just a cry to be heard, by anyone frankly who the audience is has never really worried me, I have always hoped it’s other parents going through the same sort of experiences as me but to be fair the last eight months has been more of a voyage of discovery of myself rather than a need to share my daily tribulations..

So what has that discovery been?

Foremost, I have discovered that I love to write, last April in my first blog post I claimed “I’m not a writer or particularly literate, I certainly can’t spell and I make no promises about having anything interesting to say.” and whilst I can still agree with my literacy and spelling issues and would never claim to be interesting (Dear Reader that is for you to decide.) I am a writer.   Okay so I don’t get paid to do it and it’s probably not much good but it’s writing all the same and I love doing it, in fact I lust doing it… Sneaking off somewhere quiet to get 30 minutes writing or editing has been my main “hobby” for 4 or 5 months now…

Blogging helps me deal with the swirling mass of thoughts, feelings and insecurities that explode in my head at really annoying times night and day, but mostly at night when the wee small dark hours drag on and the thoughts get louder until I just can ignore them anymore… Which is why most of what you find at ‘Allaboutus..’ is actually all about me…  Perhaps it’s time I changed the blog name?

My friend Jane a regular blog reader has been saying to me forever that she likes the way I write, it makes her laugh (good – happy with that *waves* Hi Jane!) and took nagging me sometime over the summer saying, “You should write a book” to which I would glibly answer “oh, yes like everyone in the world isn’t already doing that.” or “You come up with the story and the characters and if I like them enough I will write about them…” then September 7th, not that long ago really, a fellow blogger challenged me to explain Why I Write, and whilst considering that I said       “I have never written fiction, never tried wouldn’t know where to start…. ”

Perhaps it was just because I do use my cotton wool filled brain more and more each day to bash out stuff, venting into the keyboard or perhaps I tempted fate one small step to far but during October, they came large as life characters, plot line blazing in colour and bloody good fun to write about…  and I attribute the many months of enjoyment that has given me to blogging.  Along with that enjoyment has come a sense of self worth, a boost to my self esteem and a direction. Yes, I know being Mummy is still my number one job and a really important one at that but somewhere in the kids TV, the activities, the nagging, the nappies and the lovely bits the woman got a little lost…

and now she’s back…

and that is what blogging is helping me realise, who I am.

6 Responses to I Heart Me Monday – week 1

  1. JulieB says:

    It’s so easy to lose track isn’t it? Yay for remembering and realising, I say!
    x

  2. Marylin says:

    This is pretty much what blogging has helped me with too… to figure out *who* I am, and what I want from myself in life.
    Awesome post sweety, keep writing! 🙂

  3. Lovely post. Look forward to reading your book in due course 😉

  4. I have no book inside of me either!
    Writing a blogpost is a different kettle of fish!!

    BNM

    (popped over from I heart me McLinky)

  5. joanne says:

    I can really see how you feel you got lost, working a few days a week while they were small helped keep my sense of self. Sending them to school each day whilst I am at home makes me feel like I have lost all remaining brain cells (and there weren’t many left). Would love to read your book!
    x

  6. thanks for playing, week 1er. great post, congrats and *massive cheer* to you being back – love it!
    hope to see you next time xxx

Always lovely to hear from you!

