I Heart Me in 2011…


So here we are with week two of I heart Me and to be honest I should not be even attempting to write anything at all! In the last 4 days I have had approximately 12 hours sleep, none of which was more than two hours in length due to my lovely smalls having the most awful dry tickly coughs and runny nose sneezes, my son has also been having nightmares which interrupt my sleep as if he  was physically jumping up and down on me.  This is part of my job as Mummy, yes I bitch about it on twitter and to anyone who listens but that is life. So I’m unfocused and have a tendency to ramble – sorry and all that but I have come to realize since I wrote the last “Me” post that this journey is very important and I need to take it….

So this weeks question, What do I want for Me in 2011?

Simple and yet complicated…  I want to Recapture an Essence of Me

Me in my 20’s working hard (bah not that bit) and clubbing often and late (eeek – not that either) used to also spend a fair bit of time voraciously reading a vast volume of books, dependent on their size of course; it wasn’t unusual to get through 2 maybe 3 novels a week, I can remember my house mates taking the michael out of me for cooking whilst reading.  Now I’m lucky if I get through one a month. Why is this important? Apart from my love of getting lost in fiction to the point it overtakes my every waking though and my enjoyment of a carefully crafted sentence, I have very early memories which continued over the years of my Mum sitting on the sofa with a book in front of her reading for hours, perhaps it is a learned behaviour? If so, then it is one that I am determined to pass on to my children.

Now that woman, the 20 something with every minute of her life filled with some now seemingly selfish pursuit also loved going to the theatre.  A live performance is rapture. The hushed anticipation of the crowd, the lights dimming, curtain swishing, hanging onto every enunciated word and action even the binoculars have their own delight. I love it and I miss it and I want that back…  Not so hard you would think? Well, one thing I knew about my husband before marriage is that he has no interest in going to the theatre, it’s one of those things I chose to take on board at the time as something we wouldn’t do together, he’s probably go if I nagged him but his reluctance to go would mar my experience… *sigh* that we could choose who we love 😉

And now it’s confession time….  That girl, the 20 something… yeah her. She spent 4 years at catering college  (not my original plan for my life, that was to study English at A level and then some form of degree, fate cocked that plan up good and proper at 17 but that will have to be some other post…) So whilst I stand by my claims to be #notadomesticgoddess I can cook, I used to cook pretty well. I also have a “new” audience to cook for, not just the husband with his need for plain fuel but two untrained palettes that could do with something more interesting.  What about me? I love good tasting food and yearn for better flavours and more interesting meals….

So here it is, a pledge if you like… Start it slow and two by two…

I will attempt to read and enjoy 2 books a month making sure some of this reading time is infront of the small people (with a cuppa for preference).

I will cajole, bribe and drag a theatre enjoying friend to at least 2 performances this year (all free tickets will be rewarded by a blog review).

and I will make 2 “new” dishes per month, regardless to the whinging and unappreciativeness of the consumers, I need variety and twice a month is not a lot to ask at all!!!

So there we are, what I want for 2011, for me…

 

 

11 Responses to I Heart Me in 2011…

  1. Marylin says:

    This is *so* what I am wanting to explore this year, finding *me* again, and improving on myself. I hope you manage your goals for the year! 🙂

  2. Ahhh I recognise that person too. Are we related? Best of luck with your list – very organised!

  3. Tatjana says:

    Hm! That’s crazy similar to my plans for this new life I started when moving to CZ! I hope to get to the UK this year, visit some friends – if I get to your area we’ve got to go to the theatre together!!

    • kailexness says:

      I shall hold you to that!

  4. Jen says:

    The ‘two by two’ is a good idea, a good start but not pushing your luck. I was like you with reading and I just don’t now because nothing would get done in favour of books. But when my children are older look at all those books that will have been written and waiting for me! Jen

  5. Karen says:

    Enjoy – I look forward to reading back your book, theatre and food reviews!

  6. Vegemitevix says:

    Funny how much we have in common. I love the theatre too and have a second degree in Speech and Drama (yes, I know I really am a Drama Queen). I used to cook really well too, even did a little bit of catering once upon a time. Now I can barely get dinner on the table. This year I’d like to actually get back into my old love of cooking and entertaining. Reading and theatre and cinema going are on my list of things I’d like to rediscover too.

    A great list!

  7. JulieB says:

    If you need a theatre buddy I’m only half an hour from Bath by train…

  8. BTW wanted to let you know I’ve give you a Stylish Blogger Award – details on my blog 🙂

  9. I love this. a great blog post. great how you turn beautiful and funny memories into 3 things to do.
    Sorry for the tardy comment – opps. And thanks for playing especially when so knackered x

  10. I feel your pain – Lissy had her nighttime cough for 3 weeks. Thank god that’s over with now.

    Love the idea of 2 new recipes a month – it’s easy to get stuck in a rut with cooking especially when our little darlings turn up their noses at anything slightly out of the ordinary (no darling, it’s quinoa NOT bird seed..)

Always lovely to hear from you!

