The Stylish Blogger Meme…


Three times this week I have been tagged in the Stylish Blogger Meme. Three Times!!! Am I stylish or what!!  Well no, actually not at all, I don’t so stylish I do aged beach bum on a budget…  but hey…

In response to this tagging I’m supposed to tell you seven thing of interest about Moi. *yawns* all I ever do here is talk about Moi…  in fact just the other day I had a bleat tweet at @jennypaulin that went thusI’m going to have to change the name of my blog soon to “AllaboutMe Me! Me! damn it!””

But the ladies who have tagged me are super tweeters and wonderful bloggers and you follow the links to find Hello it’s Gemma Bod for tea and Where the brass bands play I have a sneaky suspicion that Knees up Mother Brown may have tagged me on this too a while ago – sorry Dawnie!

So I’m willing to give it another go and just in case you think I’m cheating and rehashing old posts here are the old ones Kreative Blogger one & two

So another 7 things you don’t know about me….  Twitter and  Facebook helped me out with a few points, although circumnavigating the globe whilst sitting on Clint Mauro’s Abs is a pleasure I have yet to achieve and some subjects are best not discussed on an open blog, I hope I have made it a little more interesting than my last two attempts but a tag is a tag and nobody reads my drivel anyways so I can make it all up – right? *sigh* alright I will try and behave…  Here we go, be prepared to be amazed… *cough* not.

1) I am a qualified Reiki practitioner…  You can find out everything you never wanted to know about Reiki here.  I stopped practicing when I fell pregnant with the little lady and decided not to pursuit it any further, perhaps one day I will do my masters but my 2 small tearaways are not making it easy to create a calm environment…  I do use it most days still..  I wonder if Reiki works on Twitter…..  Mmmmm?

2) Similarly, I am also qualified in Indian Head Massage, I chucked in the almond oil and towel at the same time with this one too…  I expect I could brush up on it though if I had to – form an orderly queue… and bring your own oil of choice.

3) My favourite poets are Philip Larkin and Robert Frost, my favourite poems of theirs are Larkin’s The Whitsun Weddings and Frost’s Road Not Taken, I’m also very fond of Keats…

4) and while we are on the subject of literature my favourite Shakespearean play is The Tempest…

5) I am having and will probably continue to have for many many more years with any luck a mad passionate and exclusive affair with vinegar (thanks to Chris for still remembering this passion of mine after all these years 😉 ) It started off just as a normal romance but over the years has been cultivated into refinement, at the moment in my kitchen I have malt, sherry, 3 types of Balsamic, cider, red and white wine vinegar…  obsessive, yeah a bit…

If you would like to discuss points 1 & 5 further you had better Tweet me, everyone else WAKE UP WILL YOU! I still have 2 points to go!

6) I thank a fellow tweeter for this suggestion (although I’m keeping it tame lovey)…  My Guilty Pleasure Crush… any excuse to get a picture of Taylor Lautner on the blog…

Woof! and then some…  and guilty why? Because I’m firmly Team Edward!… (and bless Taylor he’s only 18! Well almost 19 and I’m still 26 in my head, that’s not so bad is it?) but it’s not really right for a 40 year old woman to get flustered over a young lad wearing cut off jeans with a stomach you could do your washing on, shoulders as broad and beautiful as my best imaginings  and a voice like velvet is it? Yeah, right… Like I care. *drifts off into a daydream*


7) and finally… Something you really didn’t know…  I’d like to thank my dear friend Jo for reminding me of this occasion…  sort of, it’s obviously been etched deeply in her memory for some reason…;-)

1997 – Jo’s now husband Darren invited my good self and my partner in crime friend Lisa to his graduation ball at Bath University, lord knows why…  He must have thought the place needed spicing up a bit…  Anyway, I’d spent a weekend in London with another pal trying to find a dress for the occasion to no avail, back at her flat she opened a trunk and pulled out a dress. “try that on” says she, a thin whipper snapper of no size “I can’t wear your dresses Dawn!” Says I , but she is Scottish and I know better than to argue when she gets a certain look in her eye..

Well, I have never in my entire life before or since worn a dress so small…  but it was fab so I took it home. And what does a girl do with a new dress she needs an opinion on? She goes to see her Mother… Who’s husband is a photographer… Who took one look at this dress and I could see his eyes get that excited “Oh my… the possibilities!” look… I remember to this day him saying “Stop pulling it down! Let it ride to where it wants to be and leave it!” So I did, but I don’t think he ever considered this….

Yes. I was wearing tights… and I am sensible enough to wear black knickers no matter how skimpy but by the time the man operating the darn beastie had finished having his jollies there were rather a few more people watching than appeared in this photo!  Well, hell…  You are only young once are you not!

And just in case you wondered…. here’s me in that dress….

20 Responses to The Stylish Blogger Meme…

  1. Helloitsgemma says:

    Wow that’s some short dress! Great legs. Great story. Great list, you are so very literary. Cheers for sharing. As ever, fab! X

  2. Love the dress… but don’t think it would suit me. And what taste in poetry – Larkin is a firm favourite. I went to Hull and was once (with a group of friends) shouted at by the great man for daring to walk on the grass beneath his library office window. Ah, fond memories. And a rather dubious claim to fame…

    • kailexness says:

      But what a claim to fame! Jealous much!

  3. Hilary Kelly says:

    Swit swooooooooo get you gorgeous!!

    • kailexness says:

      *bows*

  4. Jenny paulin says:

    Wow! You look very sexy in that photo! *wolf whistles *
    thanks for my mention aswell hee hee I have been tagged in this too, so must get on and complete it! X
    Ps nice pic of Taylor too 😉

  5. fiona2107 says:

    You’re hilarious!

    Great dress 🙂

  6. JulieB says:

    OMG, I graduated from Bath Uni in 1997! I remember that bucking bronco very well… Nice top – sorry, dress – Mrs. 😉
    X

    • kailexness says:

      You were there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • JulieB says:

        I was! I was! Small world…

  7. You looked fab! My Mum has an obsession with vinegar too, her cupboards are crammed with so many different types but she only really uses two or three. She keeps buying more though, keeps her happy anyway 🙂

    • kailexness says:

      I’m very easy to please 😉

  8. Jen says:

    Taylor is HAWT, I am still on the fence and haven’t picked a team! Jen

    • kailexness says:

      It’s so hard! To dribble over Edward in the book but to WANT Jacob in the films…. (it’s all so very wrong 😉 )

  9. OMG if I had your legs I would wear that dress every day. You look amazing. My husband shares your vinegar passion. For Xmas I bought him a set from Oil & Vinegar – raspberry vinegar, balsamic and also pomegranate vinegar (the fig is also delicious). He loves me now. Check it out http://uk.oilvinegar.com/oil-vinegars/vinegars-from-the-tap.html?p=2 Love Alex xxx

  10. Jane says:

    Bloody hell – is that really you!!!!! Wearing it to nursery tomorrow ;0)

    • kailexness says:

      I’m deeply hurt that you can’t instantly tell it’s me! tsk – what am I now a whale? 😉 I think Alice might have a heart attack if I did…

  11. Joanne says:

    Don’t know why it is so deeply etched in my memory.. looking for the photo also meant we found photos of us all in Scotland.. walking with plastic bags to keep the socks dry and the murder mystery dinner party at yours (which you have scarred my memory that night of conversations about your crotchless body stockings)! I enjoy reading your blog.. gives me yet another reason to not mop the tiled floor!

    • kailexness says:

      I’m such a bad friend… *sniggers* I think I must still have said crotchless body stocking somewhere so it’s can’t have been that good eh!

  12. Lovely list (I’m partial to Whitsun Weddings too) I’ve got a bit of a headache by the way if you’re free for a spot of Reiki…

Always lovely to hear from you!

