Boobie Wednesday – Why I did it….


What the? Is probably what you are thinking and you may be right…  I have been watching #boobiewednesday happen on Twitter for many months now wondering if I will  ever have the courage to join in.  Breast cancer awareness is a cause I have championed for many many years.

So why this Wednesday and what has changed in me to make me plaster my boobs all over the twitter feed, because yes non Twitter pals, yesterday I changed my Avatar on twitter to a picture on my boobs, wearing a very fetching bra of course and tweeted the message #boobiewednesday check your breasts for lumps #kickcancer as often as I could.

Well it starts here, at 18 I found a lump in my breast and had to have it removed, I was lucky it was benign but it took weeks and weeks of waiting and surgery for them find that out and a lot of stress and heartache. I have checked my breasts regularly ever since.

A while before the small people arrived I worked for a company who’s Managing Director’s wife had fought and subsequently lost her fight with cancer, she was an inspirational strong woman who I admire greatly, you may have seen her on The Mummy Diaries, she died on the day the last program was aired and although I hadn’t seen her for several years I cried my heart out for her loss. A very special lady who fought hard and raised thousands of pounds for a worthy cause.  For two years in a row I joined her and hundreds of other women on the Race for Life and yesterday I realised that now is the time to start thinking about joining in again this year, stamping my foot down on the pavement for a cause I care about.  So along with the “check your boobs” call yesterday I asked “Who wants to join me on the Race for Life this year?” I had one or two replies, twitter is world wide and geography is a bitch. But I think I will do it on my own if I have to this year…

So rightly or wrongly, I changed my “avi” and put the word out, I know me…  without that I won’t do it, it will slip away and I shall get to June and be upset because I didn’t motivate myself to take action.

Twitter reaction was fabulous, 700 followers is a fair amount and a lot of people asked why I’d done it (and were mostly pleased to hear that it was just for one day!) which allowed me to tweet back the message and keep it current and yes I have changed back to my normal picture today and I’m pleased I did it.

We need to kick all kinds of cancer, check your boobs ladies and your bits men, catch it early.

Sadly yesterday I got unfollowed by someone I respect and always enjoyed tweeting with, if that is because of the boobs that is very regrettable but I stand by my choice to stand up and be counted on a cause I care about. If not, well I can be a bit full on and probably pretty annoying, I apologise if I was out of line somehow but I respect her choice not to follow me, but I’m saddened all the same.

20 Responses to Boobie Wednesday – Why I did it….

  1. Him Up North says:

    A bold move but an understandable one. Its great that people such as yourself are willing to spread the message. More power to you, lady.

    Personally I enjoyed every minute of your temp avatar. In case you wondered. 🙂

    • kailexness says:

      It’s so important to me I just couldn’t be bashful about it any more… I’m glad you enjoyed it 😉

  2. Kate says:

    You have no idea without asking them if they unfollowed you because of the boobs. Personally, I get quite a few in my timeline on a Wednesday and it personally doesn’t bother me – after all, you see far more revealing images on billboards on the street. It could just be random – or even accidental, Twitter is naughty like that; it’s forever unfollowing people at random. I’ve been on both sides of that one.

    Well done you for joining in anyway. I am not brave enough to do it.

    • kailexness says:

      I won’t ask, I never do, it’s her right and I respect that. I honestly hope it wasn’t the boobs, I don’t want to think that of her….

  3. Chris Mosler says:

    I lost my Nanna to breast cancer and having had several lumpy scares and hospital visits I am a regular checker. Very well done for pasting your magnificent bosoms on Twitter and raising awareness, I’m sorry you got unfollowed…it may just be a blip and she’ll be back. I’m really sorry I can’t run with you (I have very dodgy knees and pavement running is not allowed) but pass your sponsor form my way! C xxx

    • kailexness says:

      My fathers parents both died from lung cancer, I was very young so I’m not sure the impact of the cancer issues has really hit them. Not getting to know them has impacted me greatly… I certainly will pass you the form 🙂

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Boobie Wednesday – Why I did it…. | Allaboutus and such like -- Topsy.com

  5. Hilary Kelly says:

    I lost my sister to cancer 4yrs ago its a bitch of a disease so if changing your avi highlights the issue of cancer and gets someone to check themselves for lumps and bumps then thats a job well done. Well done you I admire you for doing it. xx

    • kailexness says:

      That’s harsh Hilary, very sorry to hear that 😦 (((hugs)))

  6. Veronica says:

    Thank you for taking this one day to do Boobie Wednesday. I started it so men and women wouldnt feel so afraid to self exam, and they had no excuse if they see it every week. Now, the Av change grabs peoples attention, but isnt nessasary. All i ask if that you remind others weekly to do their own self exams. And Gents, you can get breast cancer as well.
    Veronica Co-founder of Boobie wednesday
    @shimmer418 @boobiewed

    • kailexness says:

      My pleasure Veronica, it’s a brilliant idea -much respect xx

  7. ella says:

    Well done for standing up for what you believe in and for raising awareness and taking action. I had a lump last year, it was a terrifying time and cancer reaches right through our family. Cancer research needs more lovely people like you…

  8. mummylimited says:

    Do you know, I nearly asked you yesterday as it seemed quite out of character. I wish I had now as it would have given you another tweet to get this message out.
    Coincidentally a friend was telling me today about someone she works with who found a lump and 3 weeks later was told she only had months to live. She still has no real symptoms. She is 41 and has kids ages 9 & 6. It broke my heart and sent selfishly sent shivers down my spine.
    Well done for being so brave. I look forward to seeing your lacy bra again soon 🙂

    • kailexness says:

      Do you know, that more than anything brings tears to my eyes, motherless children – or fatherless for that matter – breaks my heart…

  9. Ben says:

    I had testicular cancer 2 years ago. Thankfully I found it early. Anything that will raise awareness of how easy it is to check for yourself be it breast or balls. IS a great time thing.

    • kailexness says:

      So pleased you managed to find it Ben, thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  10. JallieDaddy says:

    Damn! Missed it 😦

    I know that’s not the point, of course: it’s all for a great cause. Good for you 🙂

  11. Good for you! We have cancer survivors in the family, all thanks to checking and then getting checked out. Sorry I missed the avatar change 🙂

  12. Rachael says:

    D’you know, I was feeling so ill on Wednesday that I completely forgot to say nice knockers! Hahaha! I think I’ll join you next week. xx

  13. Well done, you. Fabulous Post. What a shame someone unfollowed you. I do hope you find the time to get running, the Race for Life is an amazing event.

Always lovely to hear from you!

