I Heart Me Monday – Oh Wondrously Ridiculous?


See, see! This! This is why I join in with I ♥ Me,

This week Notes has asked us to and I quote “Tell us something wonderful about yourself”.

Look, I know what you are thinking, “oh my, here we go, she’s going to big up how bloody marvelous she is at loads of stuff and” *yawn* “lets not bother reading…..” But stop and think for a minute, if you are a regular visitor here you will know that my usual approach in talking about myself (which I have to admit does happen fairly often) is to poke fun at me.  I’m quite happy to set myself up as the idiot and have a good chortle because apart from often finding myself faintly ridiculous in my haphazard approach to  my life, I live to laugh and laughter is often my first response..

In mirth, in defense, in social situations, in business situations, with the smalls and adults alike.  On Twitter, in person, in my writing, in my approach to life and to counteract the depression and insomnia which sometimes threatens to drown me… I turn to laughter to make me happy.

I’d not say I’m funny or witty, in fact I always get my sister to proof read the posts which I “think” might be amusing because as Ricky Gervais has recently showed us, humor can so easily hit the wrong note, Robert Downey Jr.s quote from the Golden Globes said it all “Aside from the fact that it’s been hugely mean-spirited with mildly sinister undertones, I’d say the show’s going pretty good so far, wouldn’t you?” I’d hate that and would be very upset if my weak attempts at humor hurt someone…

So yes, this is why I join in with I ♥ Me,because sometimes I need to stop and appreciate that actually the simple things I take for granted about myself, like my ability to make laughter improve my day and hopefully that of others is a really great and wonderful thing, long may it last….

6 Responses to I Heart Me Monday – Oh Wondrously Ridiculous?

  1. Marylin says:

    And that’s why we love you! Well, one of many reasons. 🙂

  2. Laughter is a truly wondrous thing and we thank you for bringing laughter into our lives!! 🙂

  3. great post, I would so struggle with this topic, maybe it’s my English reserve, good read for a Monday, uplifting and wonderful. go you x

  4. JulieB says:

    Think you’ve hit the nail on the head! Lots of other reasons too, of course…
    x

  5. LOVE IT!
    Laughter all the way I say, just the start of your wonderfulness I am sure.
    xx

  6. Found you via Notes and love your post. Laughter really is the best medicine I find.

    MD xx

Always lovely to hear from you!

