The Invasion of the Pink Princessness


If you have been here before you can’t have failed to notice my views on the pink princessness which overtakes all little girls, if you have only just got here; where have you been!

Right Pink *groans inwardly* Little girls do not have to wear pink, as soon as I heard ‘those three marks are indicative of a girl’ from the lady working the ultrasound I made up my mind No Pink and I have stuck to my guns ever since, my daughter however has other ideas…

She claims “Pink is my favourite colour and purple and yellow and [insert current favourite here] You don’t like pink do you Mummy?” to which I reply “I’m not keen, no.” To which she tells me “Green is your favourite and Daddies and (Little Man) likes Red and Blue doesn’t he?”

But I wasn’t quite prepared for the invasion of the princesses.

I decided early on that their would be no HSM or Hannah Montana and that ilk until school. We have, unfortunately due to circumstances beyond my control, got Mama Mia and Grease – I know! Please don’t go there…

So I thought it was fair enough when she requested Sleeping Beauty, though I had forgotten how horrifying Maleficent really is! Hiding behind pillows is a part of childhood, for me it was the daleks for her it’s Disney baddies – so far. Well that is how the invasion started anyway, it was then one DVD after another, my old videos were dragged down and the hand cranked VCR put to some use again (yes, I have them all and love them myself) but then the merchandicing started and the “Barbie” type dolls appeared, the dress up clothes, crowns, wings, wands, high heeled clip clops, it will never end will it!

and then I found this, it’s called What the Disney Princesses teach us…

and I find myself not minding quite so much…

Until I find my son dressed as Snow White waving a wand in clip clops singing about his prince coming…

Hmmmm, it will pass I’m sure.

6 Responses to The Invasion of the Pink Princessness

  1. TheMadHouse says:

    I think there is a p-lace for pink in everyones life. Mini’s fav colour is pink and so what. His fav disney movie at the moment is tinkerbelle!

  2. Bumbling says:

    You, when Moo was born I kind of railed against pink too. But then thinking about it, I did wonder why I felt I shouldn’t let my little girl be girly, and instead encourage cars and trains etc, when I wouldn’t try to change my little boy by putting him in pink and not allowing him boys toys…

    But I completely agree about the merchandising and the advertising. That said, Moo doesn’t watch commercial TV, hasn’t seen any disney movies (not a long enough attention span yet), but instinctively loves pink, and babies, and pretending to make us dinner and cups of tea. I’m learning to embrace it. I think.

    (Not that I’ll not still encourage other play, but, you know).

    • kailexness says:

      I did feel pink was pushed on me, there was no choice! She looked so lovely in red, orange, yellow and green too! She’s always had girly toys and with a little boy in the house (who also wears green, orange, yellow and red as well as blue) They have a choice of their own. He plays with cars and trains and she with the dollies completely without my interference πŸ˜‰

  3. I’ve got 3 boys, and they’ve all had pink as their favourite colour at one point or another. They’ve also had some fabulous pink clothes as babies (thanks to an elder, girl, cousin). But now the eldest is at school pink is a no no here.

    I’m not too fussed about pink, but I do rail against the stereotypes for women – including the supermarket that had nurses in the girls dressing up section and doctors in the boys. Outrageous.

    • kailexness says:

      Well I was thinking of you last week with your 3 boys when I went shopping πŸ˜‰

  4. Pink eh!

    My daughter went through a massive pink stage for a couple of years now she just likes dresses.

    My son *cough* slept in a disney princess nightie for two years.

    What was that about…..

Always lovely to hear from you!

