Autumn is Such a Pickle!!


Ever feel like you are playing catch up with your life? Ever feel like you are not?!

I’m a bit behind with the old blog, so today I’m playing catch up with this post.  A week or so before my Op the tomatoes looked like they were about to turn red, now, I’d always say that Winter is my favourite month because I do love a bit of snow but when it comes to food Autumn really has to take the biscuit, or in my case the biscuit with mature cheddar and a large spoonful of chutney.

I love chutney, it’s probably the only food I actually make a point of trying to cook well :-s

Last year with a surfeit of red plums from a friend I made the most incredible Plum Chutney, but due to having a really terrible year for tomatoes (they all went red damn them!) my absolute favourite Green Tomato Chutney didn’t get made. I did have some left over from the year before though, so with being frugal and also making beetroot chutney I have manage to make it last.  This year I planted Big Toms with the express intention of picking them green.

Don’t they look heavenly!

The year before last I had made two batches, I may still do that this year, one batch is very dark and sweet and the other is the same pale green as the tomatoes, tangy and piquant. Mostly it’s down to the sugar, the dark recipe uses brown sugar the lighter white. Mostly at the WI type markets I see the dark variety but the light green one is rather special so I opted for that one first.

Here is the science bit…

4lb green tomatoes chopped
1lb cooking apples peeled, cored and chopped*
1lb onions, chopped
2 large garlic cloves
1 tbsp salt
3 tbsp pickling spice**
1 pint cider vinegar***
1lb sugar

* I use eaters, our neighbour’s apple tree rather rudely sheds it’s fruit into our (rather expensive) Koi pond every year so I try where possible to scrump the apples to ofset this inconvenience…

**I make my own pickling spice bag by running through whatever I have and bundling it in a corner of old (clean) tea towel, it adds a little je ne sais quoi to the end product, yes, I do live dangerously 😉

*** Cider vinegar is only avaiable in my store in 500ml bottles, so I top it up with white wine vinegar – life on the edge eh!

(All oooo’s and ahhhh’s at the new kitchen worksurface and tiles will be passed on to the builder xx)

Bung (yes, that is a technical term) the tomato, apples, onions, garlic in a pan and add the salt. Popping the pickling spiced in tied to the handle. Add half the vinegar to the pan and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 1 hour or until the chutney is reduced and thick, stirring frequently.

Due to a rather lucky accident (lucky because the OH didn’t die when my 26″ Le Crusset pan fell on him) my chutney pan is no more… yes, it is possible to kill le crusset, especially with a drill *sulks*.  So I have to use two)

Then put the sugar and the remaining vinegar in a pan and heat gently until the sugar has dissolved, adding this to the chutney simmer for 1 1/2 hours until the chutney is thick stirring occasionally.

Removing bag, spoon hot chutney into sterilised jars, cover and seal immediately.

Like all great things in life, chutney needs to mature too, wait at least a month before using, longer is better.

So, just to prove that in Autumn I am a #DomesticGoddess this is a picture of my autumn creations!

 

Pickled onions and eggs, beetroot – made this year with a mix of Balsamic vinegar and white wine vinegar and oh boy does it rock! Green tomato chutney and Hot Yellow Plum Chutney…

*Bows*

Today I found a Crown Prince Squash in Morrisons, (I bl**dy Love Autumn!!) and so I will (after resting up a bit because I have over done it this morning) make some crown prince squash soup, which is my all time favourite ever! I may share that with you another day…

 

2 Responses to Autumn is Such a Pickle!!

  1. Susan says:

    Loved reading this post and checking out your blog. I’m so impressed with the making of any kind of chutney–red or green! Awesome job and I love the pictures. You make me feel like I could make it–though I know there’s no way I could do this!

    • Kailexness says:

      *chuckles* if I who can burn water can make chutney, then so can you 😉

Always lovely to hear from you!

