Little Boxes of wonderment…


What happened to holidays being a restful time to recuperate? I suppose most of them are but Christmas? No… Not a chance. I’ve been especially worried just recently by my daughters lack of bounce. She was hit by a nasty cough just before the end of term and all over the holidays had one bug after another, a burst eardrum and sickness. We had to cancel a couple of days out and yet with the tide of excitement that Christmas and New Year brings there was no respite. Returning to school after the holiday she looked pale and exhausted. She’s not the only one, a lot of her class mates look lacking in their usual exuberance, it was one of those holidays where the activities and excitement along with illness just didn’t give them the chance to recover.

It’s three and a half weeks to half term and I’m wishing the time away, I want them home in the warm, recovering, taking it easy, getting the bounce back! So I’ve been thinking (it doesn’t always hurt *chuckles*) I need to come up with a plan to keep them occupied, yet not go too mad on the running around bit. February isn’t known for its marvelous weather so with that in mind I’m thinking pajama and duvet days, movies and popcorn. That of course, will last 2 hours *rolls eyes* so my strategy needs to provide them with interest each day for the 5 days Daddy is working.

So here it is…

I’m going to get 5 boxes, each with a theme on the wrapping outside and a picture of the weather, we ought to have a bit of fresh air on a good day! I shall let them pick which box they want to do each day and in the box will be a selection of activities. A film, a craft, building castles out of furniture and blankets, a toy suggestion or similar. In the good weather box we could go duck feeding or bike riding etc… You get the picture right?

I can’t help wondering if my control freakery has gone into overdrive with this plan, (there is a chance of course I wont carry it through) I do know it’s lessening the worry I have for her knowing I have a plan forming. That must be a good thing!

I’ll try and keep you updated on progress.

 

 

One Response to Little Boxes of wonderment…

  1. jfb57 says:

    What a great idea! I’m a great supporter of hope for the best but prepare for the worst!

Always lovely to hear from you!

